Get in touch

Contact Details


Welcome to the Governors' Section!
School governing bodies are responsible for working with the school to ensure that it delivers a good quality education. Together with the headteacher, who is responsible for day-to-day management, they set the school's aims and policies.

Governors have three main roles:

  • To provide strategic direction for the school
  • To act as a critical friend to the Principal
  • To ensure accountability

They also carry out a number of other important duties, which include:

  • Determining how the school's budget is spent
  • Hearing appeals and grievances
  • Forming policy on the school's curriculum and collective worship
  • Setting standards for pupil behaviour
  • Making sure school buildings are welcoming and safe
  • Setting and monitoring the school's aims and policies
  • Staff recruitment and retention

We are incredibly fortunate to have a fantastic team of governors who have a real energy, enthusiasm and desire to help provide our children with the best possible education.

Board of Members and Board of Trustees (Governors)

The board of Members of Sparken Hill Academy Trust is made up of three Members who meet three times a year to review and develop the Academy's strategic and financial direction.


Sparken Hill  Academy Trust Members

Mrs Sue Cutts

Mr Phil Gawthorpe

Mrs Lesley Holmes

The board of Trustees of Sparken Hill Academy Trust is made up of twelve Trustees who meet three times per year as a main body of Trustees (Governing Body).

Three main sub-committees meet three times per year and feedback to the main body of Trustees.



The constitution states that the Governing Body should be made up as follows:


1 x Principal

2 x Staff

2 x Parent

3 x Co-opted

2 x Partnership

2 x Community


Current Governors





Mr Richard Lilley



Mrs Emma Rodgers


Vice Principal

Mrs Marion (Sue) Cutts


Member/Chair of SIP and Audit committee

Mr Philip Gawthorpe


Member/ Chair of Governors 

Councillor John Shephard



Mrs Lesley Holmes


Member / Chair of Finance

Mrs Leemah Hazlehurst



Mrs Urshula Flower



Mrs Sue Sparks






Mrs Donna Carter   Co-opted   

Mrs Clare Middleton






Mr Clive Richardson

Safeguarding & Safer Recruitment

Mr Philip Gawthorpe

Performance Management

Mrs Marion (Sue) Cutts / Mr Philip Gawthorpe 

Complaints Governor

Mr P Gawthorpe




Link governors meet with monitoring team leaders approximately once per term. A report is presented to the governor(s) at this meeting. Feedback is then presented to the full governing body via termly committee or full governors meeting.

  • SEN Mrs Marion Cutts
  • Safeguarding Mrs Clare Middleton
  • Looked After Children Mrs Clare Middleton
  • Safer Recruitment Mr Richard Lilley / Mrs Marion Cutts / Mr Philip Gawthorpe
  • I.C.T Mrs Marion Cutts
  • Health & Safety TBC
  • FST / Extended Services Mr Philip Gawthorpe
  • Literacy Mrs Clare Middleton
  • Numeracy 
  • Creativity Councillor John Shephard
  • Attendance Mrs Marion Cutts



Register of Business Interests

Members and members have a legal duty to act only in the interests of the academy. Where a situation arises in which they cannot do this due to a personal interest they have, steps should be taken to identify, prevent and record the conflict. This ensures that Members/Trustees are acting only in the best interest of the academy. Members and Trustees complete a Declaration of Business Interests on an annual basis. The declaration confirms that each Member/Trustee confirms that they have read the notes of guidance and are aware of the requirements of the Department of Education Academy Handbook.

Members/Trustees are asked if they have connections/membership/shares in companies etc. as explained in the notes of guidance, which have a direct business interest in the academy.

Members/Trustees are also asked if they have any other business interests as explained in the note of guidance.


Mr R Lilley - family member employed by Notts Training Group Ltd (formally BTA) – a provider of students to the trust

Mrs M Cutts - family member employed by the trust

Mrs V Dashper - family member provides a paid service to the Academy.

Archive Governor Information